Menu Close

Denison Police Department

Chief Dan Schaffer

Daniel Schaffer

Chief of Police
Appointed: 9/16/16
dschaffer@denisonpd.net

The Denison Police Department is currently staffed with 13 sworn full time officers and 10 civilian employees.  The department is led by Chief Dan Schaffer.  The department’s patrol staff is comprised of Asst. Chief Doug Peters, Sgt. Yovan Cardenas, Sgt. Dan McGinnis, Sgt. Doug Melby and eight patrol officers. See below for the department’s contact information.

In addition to providing police protection and code enforcement throughout the city the police department also staffs and manages the 911 Center for Crawford County. The Communications Center is the only public service answering point in Crawford County and is responsible for dispatching the Denison Police Department, Manilla Police Department, the Crawford County Sheriff’s Office, eight fire departments and their respective EMS first responder personnel, and the Crawford County Memorial Hospital EMT/Paramedic Ambulance Service.

The Chief of Police also supervises the Building Department and Code Enforcement.

Full-time sworn officers

Assistant Chief Doug Peters

Doug Peters

Assistant Chief
Appointed: 7/28/05 dpeters@denisonpd.net

Douglas Melby

Sergeant
Appointed: 5/27/15
dmelby@denisonpd.net

Juan Torres

Patrol Officer
Appointed: 4/5/17
jtorres@denisonpd.net

Coletta Matson

Patrol Officer
Appointed: 4/23/18
cmatson@denisonpd.net

Yovan Cardenas

Sergeant
Appointed: 2/10/16 ycardenas@denisonpd.net

Rogelio Valdez

Patrol Officer
Appointed: 10/17/16
rvaldez@denisonpd.net

Joshua David

Patrol Officer
Appointed: 4/23/18
jdavid@denisonpd.net

Miguel Sosa

Miguel Sosa

Patrol Officer
Appointed: 7/17/18
msosa@denisonpd.net

Daniel McGinnis

Sergeant
Appointed: 3/9/16
dmcginnis@denisonpd.net

Officer Francisco Cruz

Francisco Cruz

Patrol Officer
Appointed: 11/16/16
fcruz@denisonpd.net

Nick Groth

Patrol Officer
Appointed: 4/23/18
ngroth@denisonpd.net

Alan Romero

Patrol Officer
Appointed: 7/17/18
aromero@denisonpd.net

Civilian Employee

Picture Unavailable

Sue Gallentine

Records Secretary
Appointed: 8/10/87
sgallentine@denisonpd.net

Civilian Communications Employees

Picture Unavailable

Cathy Lahr

Communications
Appointed: 1/17/00
clahr@denisonpd.net

Picture Unavailable

Amanda Ashbrook

Communications
Appointed: 2/24/14
aashbrook@denisonpd.net

Picture Unavailable

Priscilla Moreno

Communications
Appointed: 6/27/18
pmoreno@denisonpd.net

Picture Unavailable

Kandi Teut

Communications
Appointed: 1/2/01
kteut@denisonpd.net

Matthew Howland

Matthew Howland

Communications
Appointed: 8/1/17
mhowland@denisonpd.net

Picture Unavailable

Amber Koch

Communications
Appointed: 4/10/19
akoch@denisonpd.net

Picture Unavailable

Tabitha Towne

Communications
Appointed: 6/12/02
ttowne@denisonpd.net

Lexi Houston

Lexi Houston

Communications
Appointed: 2/11/18
lhouston@denisonpd.net

Picture Unavailable

Tristen Thilges

Communications
Appointed: 1/8/20
tthilges@denisonpd.net