Menu Close

Denison Police Department

Chief Dan Schaffer

Daniel Schaffer

Chief of Police
Appointed: 9/19/16
dschaffer@denisonpd.net

The Denison Police Department is currently staffed with 13 sworn full time officers and 7 civilian employees.  The department is led by Chief Dan Schaffer.  The department’s patrol staff is comprised of Asst. Chief Doug Peters, Sgt. Yovan Cardenas, Sgt. Dan McGinnis, Sgt. Doug Melby, and eight patrol officers. See below for the department’s contact information.

The Department provides police protection throughout the city and staffs the 911 Center for Crawford County. The Communications Center is the only public service answering point in Crawford County and is responsible for dispatching the Denison Police Department, the Manilla Police Department, the Charter Oak Police Department, the Crawford County Sheriff’s Office, ten fire departments and their respective EMS first responder personnel, and the Crawford County Memorial Hospital EMT/Paramedic Ambulance Service.

Full-time sworn officers

Doug Peters

Assistant Chief
Appointed: 7/28/05 dpeters@denisonpd.net

Douglas Melby

Sergeant
Appointed: 5/27/15
dmelby@denisonpd.net

Joshua David

Patrol Officer
Appointed: 4/23/18
jdavid@denisonpd.net

Dan Ten Eyck

Patrol Officer
Appointed: 3/24/21
dteneyck@denisonpd.net

Yovan Cardenas

Sergeant
Appointed: 2/10/16 ycardenas@denisonpd.net

Juan Torres

Patrol Officer
Appointed: 4/5/17
jtorres@denisonpd.net

Miguel Sosa

Patrol Officer
Appointed: 7/17/18
msosa@denisonpd.net

Jim Krajicek

Patrol Officer
Appointed: 6/1/2021
jkrajicek@denisonpd.net

Daniel McGinnis

Sergeant
Appointed: 3/9/16
dmcginnis@denisonpd.net

Nick Groth

Patrol Officer
Appointed: 4/23/18
ngroth@denisonpd.net

Alan Romero

Patrol Officer
Appointed: 7/17/18
aromero@denisonpd.net

Tristan Winey

Patrol Officer
Appointed: 6/1/2021
jkrajicek@denisonpd.net

Civilian Employee

Sue Gallentine

Records Secretary
Appointed: 8/10/87
sgallentine@denisonpd.net

Civilian Communications Employees

Cathy Lahr

Communications
Appointed: 1/17/00
clahr@denisonpd.net

Matthew Howland

Communications
Appointed: 8/1/17
mhowland@denisonpd.net

Tabitha Towne

Communications
Appointed: 6/12/02
ttowne@denisonpd.net

Amy Nelson

Communications
Appointed: 2/4/20
anelson@denisonpd.net

Amanda Ashbrook

Communications
Appointed: 2/24/14
aashbrook@denisonpd.net

Denima Lund

Communications
Appointed: 5/28/20
dlund@denisonpd.net