Menu Close

Locally Elected Officials

The regular City Council Meetings are on the first and third Tuesdays of each month at 5:00 p.m. in Council Chambers at Denison City Hall. Agendas are posted inside City Hall on the Friday prior to each meeting, and are uploaded to our website and put on our Facebook page. Special meetings are sometimes called as well, when time-sensitive matters arise between regular meeting times. Meetings are open to the public, and community members are encouraged to attend meetings.

For previous meeting agendas, minutes, and audio, please click here: City Council Meeting Records

Mayor and City Council Members

Pam Soseman - Mayor

Pam Soseman

Term: 12/31/2023
Elected: 11/2019
714 Parkview Drive
Denison, IA 51442

Greg Miller - At-Large Councilperson

Greg Miller

Councilperson, At large
Term: 12/31/2023
Elected: 11/2019
1014 Oak Park Blvd
Denison, IA 51442


Councilperson, At large
Term: 12/31/2025
Elected (to fill vacancy):

Denison, IA 51442

Dustin Logan

Councilperson, First Ward
Term: 12/31/2025
Appointed (to fill vacancy): 6/2021
304 North 16th Street
Denison, IA 51442

John Granzen, Jr. - Ward 2 Councilperson

John Granzen, Sr.

Councilperson, Second Ward
Term: 12/31/2023
Elected: 11/2019
1720 Broadway
Denison, IA 51442

Corey Curnyn - Ward 3 Councilperson

Corey Curnyn

Councilperson, Third Ward
Term: 12/31/2025
Elected: 11/2017
2301 Bel Aire Dr.
Denison, IA 51442

Wards and Poll Locations

Following are poll locations in the City of Denison:

First Ward: Boulders Conference Center, 2507 Boulders Drive in Denison
Second Ward: Boulders Conference Center, 2507 Boulders Drive in Denison
Third Ward: Boulders Conference Center, 2507 Boulders Drive in Denison

For more information on voting, click here to visit the Crawford County Auditor’s website, or call their office at 712-263-3045.

Click here to download a PDF of the Ward Maps.

Duties of Elected Officials


The Mayor is elected for a term of two years. The powers and duties of the Mayor are listed in Chapter 15 of the Denison, Iowa, Code of Ordinances. Although the Mayor presides over City Council meetings, he or she is not a member of the Council and shall not vote as a member of the Council.

The position is part-time; the mayor does not have an office in City Hall. The Mayor’s salary is $6,000 per year, and is payable in monthly installments.



The Mayor appoints a member of the Council to serve as Mayor Pro Tem, who shall serve as vice president of the Council. The Mayor Pro Tem performs the duties of the Mayor in cases of absence or inability of the Mayor to perform such duties.  The Mayor Pro Tem retains the right to vote as a member of the Council. Chapter 16 of the Denison, Iowa, Code of Ordinances covers the postition of Mayor Pro Tem.


The Council consists of two Council Members elected at large and one Council Member from each of three wards as established by the Code of Ordinances, elected for overlapping terms of four years.
The powers and duties of City Council members are listed in Chapter 17 of the Denison, Iowa, Code of Ordinances.
Council members can be paid a maximum of $900 per year, which includes $25 for each regular council meeting attended paid quarterly, and a lump sum of $300 at the beginning of the year for all special and committee meetings.