Menu Close

Planning and Zoning Commission

About the Commission

The Planning and Zoning Commission establishes and recommends zoning regulations, recommends improvements to city properties and parks, and reviews and comments on plats in City of Denison as set forth in Chapter 23 of the City of Denison Code of Ordinances. The board is comprised of seven members having 5 year terms. Members are recommended by the mayor and approved by city council. Commission members are listed below.


Commission Members

Doug Dorhout
Term Expires August 2026

Evan Blakley
Term Expires August 2026

Mike Schrum
Term Expires August 2027

Phil Nichols
Term Expires August 2027

Sara Klatt
Term Expires August 2028

Mike Wight
Term Expires August 2024

Gary Reisz
Term Expires August 2024


Last Thursday of the month
Council Chambers
5:30 pm

City of Denison Zoning

To download a PDF of the Denison, Iowa, Zoning map, click here: Denison Iowa Zoning Map.